Customer Reviews

Danny

Danny - Abu Dhabi, U.A.E., April 2016

I very much enjoyed my brief stay with Chris. He was very helpful - directed me to a much-needed air conditioned bus from Colombo to Negombo, arranged for transportation from Negombo to his place and from his place to the airport. His friends prepared a delicious meal that we all enjoyed together.

Response from Christopher:

Danny thank you for your appreciative review. We are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us at Christopher's Homestay, Negombo. We and our other guest enjoyed your company over dinner. Best wishes for your trip to Bali and I hope that you find what you are seeking. Kind regards. Christopher

Mariana

Mariana - Zagreb, Croatia, April 2016

Relaxed atmosphere, Christopher is open, helpful and funny. Food is amazing!! Highly recommended. I plan to come back before I leave sri!

Response from Christopher:

My dear Mariana and Quentin, thank you for your kind and generous review. We very much enjoyed hosting you at Christopher's Homestay Negombo, We were intrigued to hear about your SEO and internet work, and we look forward to seeing you both again before your return to Croatia/France. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda

John Paul

John Paul - Liverpool, U.K., April 2016

Was nice to arrive late due to delays and have the comfort of being picked up in person by Christopher at the airport. Last thing we wanted to do was have to haggle with drivers. The room was basic but excellent value for money and had a fan for keeping cool, a net and plugs for keeping the biters away! Shower was refreshing and nice to have en suite. Breakfast and dinner were always bountiful. Fresh watermelon, bananas and mango were delicious in the mornings. Curry for dinner was tasty and topped off nicely with ice cream afterwards. Christopher was knowledgeable and helpful with information of the local culture and processes of the country. Gave suggestions on where to stop off and Chaminda as well as cooking the dinners also gave us a tuk tuk ride each day. The location is a little off centre which makes the free ride each day very helpful. Be sure to take a card with address as our return tuk tuk driver we flagged on the street had to stop asking directions twice so business card came in very handy!

Response from Christopher:

My dears John Paul and Vanessa, thank you for your kind, generous and helpful review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We very much enjoyed hosting you both at Christopher's Homestay, Negombo. Thank you for being such nice guests. If you would like to stay with us on the eve of your departure you would be very welcome, and Chaminda will be very pleased to drop you off at the airport for your return flight. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda

Virginie

Virginie - Bezons, France, April 2016

Nous sommes restés 3 nuits chez Christopher, en arrivant au Sri Lanka et en repartant. Sa maison est dans un quartier calme et située a 5 min en tuktuk de la plage. Christopher est un hôte très agréable, toujours prêt à répondre à nos questions ou a nous rendre service. (Venir nous chercher à l'aéroport à 5h du matin, nous raccompagner à l'aéroport à 2h du matin...) La chambre est pratique, propre et la salle de bain privative est aussi très appréciable. Nous conseillons fortement de passer chez Christopher lors d'une venue au sri Lanka!

Response from Christopher:

Translation of the review: "We stayed stayed 3 nights at Christopher, on arrival in Sri Lanka and before our departure. His house is in a quiet area, 5 min by tuktuk from the beach. Christopher is a very nice host , always willing to answer our questions or to help. ( He came meet us at the airport at 5am, and to accompany us to the airport at 2am ... ) The room is convenient, clean and private bathroom is much to be appreciated. We strongly advise you to stay at a Christopher's if you are visiting Sri Lanka.

RESPONSE FROM CHRISTOPHER. My dears Virginnie and Cedric, Thank you very much for your kind and generous review. We greatly enjoyed hosting you at Christopher’s Homestay, Negombo. Thank you for being such charming and delightful guest. We hope that if you come again to Sri Lanka you will come and stay with us again. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda.

TRANSLATION Mes chers Virginnie et Cedric , Je vous remercie beaucoup pour votre aimable et généreuse review . Nous avons énormément apprécié qui vous accueille à Homestay Christopher , Negombo . Merci d'être si charmant et délicieux invités . Nous espérons que si vous venez à nouveau au Sri Lanka vous venir et rester avec nous. Cordialement et meilleurs voeux de Christopher et Chaminda

Quentin

Quentin - Paris, France, April 2016

Christopher est un hôte exceptionnel, rempli de bon sens, d’(URL HIDDEN) et d'humour (anglais!). Il parle très bien français (et anglais...). J'ai passé 2 nuits avec mon amie cher Christopher, une maison suffisamment excentrée du centre ville pour être au calme (la ville est bouillonnante de vie, de touristes, et de bruits), et suffisamment proche pour accéder aux avantages de la ville en quelques minutes (10 minutes en Tuk Tuk, de mémoire). Christopher OFFRE 1 aller-retour par jour en Tuk Tuk. Si vous avez épuisé votre crédit Tuk Tuk, la course coute autoiur de 250 LKR (soit environ 1,5 €, moins qu'un ticket de métro !). Il dispose d'un chauffeur d'une très grande gentillesse (Chaminda), qui se pliera en 4 pour vous satisfaire tout au long de votre séjour. Coté cuisine, c'est la cerise sur le gâteau: c'est la meilleur cuisine depuis que nous sommes arrivés. Poissons frais du matin, légumes et épices succulents, petit déjeuner de compétition salé et/ou sucré, comme vous voulez. C'est du très très haut niveau, et ça ne coûte pas un rond (250 ou 3OO LKR, soit moins de 2 € par personne) pour un repas très complet et vraiment très bon. Bref, après ce séjour, nous avons prolongé notre visa touristique de 2 mois. Nous n'avons pas acheté une maison, mais vous voyez l'idée. Nous repasserons chez Christopher avant d'aller à l'aéroport. Autre point important: Internet fonctionne très bien ! Christopher recharge internet instantanément et gratuitement si vous avez besoin de plus de consommation.

Response from Christopher:

Translation of the review: "Christopher was a wonderful host, full of common sense, (URL HIDDEN) and humor (English!). He speaks very good French (and English ...). I spent 2 nights with my dear friend Christopher, a sufficiently out-of-the-centre house, downtown, to be quiet (the city is bustling with life, tourists, and noise), and close enough to access the benefits of the city in minutes (10 minutes by tuk tuk, according my memory). Christopher OFFERS 1 free round trip per day in Tuk Tuk. If you have exhausted your Tuk Tuk credit, the cost is 250 LKR to Negombo Town or Negombo Beachside. Resident houseman, cook and tuktuk driver Chaminda is very kind and obliging, and he will do his best to assist you throughout your stay. The cuisine is the icing on the cake: the best cooking since we arrived. Dinner: Fish bought fresh from the market that morning, succulent vegetables and spices, breakfast of savoury breakfast buns or coconut and palm sirup pancakes and banananas. This is the very high level, and it does not cost too much (breakfast 250 and dinner 3OO LKR, less than € 2 per person) for a very comprehensive and very good meal. In short, after this trip, we extended our visa to two months. We have not bought a house, but you get the idea. We will return to stay with Christopher before going to the airport for our return flight. Another important point: Internet works great

Review Response My dears Quentin and Marian. What a wonderfully kind and generous review. I am deeply touched and gratified, and very glad that you so much enjoyed and appreciated your stay with us at Christopher’s Homestay, Negombo, that you have extended your visa to three months. We look forward with great pleasure to hosting you again in our home before your return to Europe. Kind regards and best wishes for the continuation of your Sri Lankan voyage of discover. Christopher and Chamind

Review Translatio - Mes chers Quentin et Mariana (URL HIDDEN) Quel review merveilleusement gentil et généreux. Je suis profondément touché et très heureux que vous tellement aimé et apprécié votre séjour avec nous à Homestay Christopher, Negombo, que vous avez prolongé votre visa pour trois mois. Nous attendons avec grand plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre maison avant votre retour en Europe. (URL HIDDEN) Cordialement et meilleurs vœux pour la poursuite de votre voyage au Sri Lanka de la découverte (URL HIDDEN) Christopher et Chaminda

Name

Stephanie - Grimsby, U.K., April 2016

We enjoyed our time with Christopher and Chaminda who met us from the bus station which was great and very much appreciated after a 9 hour journey! The room was basic, clean and tidy, the food was tasty and we had a nice bike ride around Negombo and saw one of the best sunsets at the cafe he recommended - Dolce Vita...even if we did get lost for 3 hours in the rain afterwards! Take note of where it is on the map yourself before you leave as Airbnb locates it as being Gramodaya Mawatha which is close but not quite close enough ha All in all it was a great way to spend our last couple of nights in Sri Lanka and would recommend it :)

Response from Christopher:

My dear Stephanie thank you so much for your kind and generous review. You are a lovely couple and we very much enjoyed hosting you. I was very interesting to hear of your experiences in Sri Lanka. And working as an English teacher myself I was very interested to hear of your plans to work in Taiwan as English teachers. TEFL is a great way to see the world. I am very glad that you enjoyed the Dolce Vita, which I recommended. It's one of my favourite places in Negombo. But I'm so sorry that you were lost lost on the way back. You only had to call our number which I gave you and we would have come instantly to rescue you. I'm pretty sure that (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) maps does locates us accurately. I will check the AirBnB map and seek to correct it if I can. Kind regards and best wishes for your forthcoming Taiwan experience. Christopher and Chaminda.

Jillian

Jillian - Giessen, Germany, March 2016

Mein Freund und ich verbrachten die ersten zwei Nächte unserer Reise bei Christopher - und wir hätten es nicht besser treffen können! Christopher holte uns nachts um 3 Uhr vom Flughafen ab und wir wurden in seinem eigenen TukTuk zu seinem Haus gebracht. Wir bekamen einen leckeren Begrüßungssaft und wurden dann in unser Zimmer geführt. Das Zimmer mit eigenem Bad ist simpel, aber gemütlich und sauber! Wir haben uns direkt wohl und willkommen gefühlt! Die kommenden zwei Tage waren genau so toll; morgens machte Chris uns Frühstück,zwischendurch gab es Tee mit Kuchen. Des Weiteren führten wir interessante Gespräche mit ihm und anderen großartigen Gästen. Wir konnten seine Fahrräder ausleihen und waren nach einer kleinen Radtour am schönen Strand von Negombo. Zusammengefasst lässt sich sagen, dass der Aufenthalt bei Chris keine Wünsche offen lies und auch die Stadt Negombo an sich ein authentischer, lebendiger und schöner Ort ist. Wir empfehlen diese Unterkunft zu 100% und werden selbst gerne wieder kommen! :) My boyfriend and I spent the first two nights of our trip with Christopher - and we couldnt have picked a better place! He picked us up from the Airport at 3am and gave us a ride to his house in his own TukTuk. We were greeted with a refreshing,cold juice and then he showed us our room. The room with an attached bathroom is simple yet comfortable and clean! We felt cozy and welcome right away! The following days were great,too. Chris prepared a tasty breakfast in the mornings and treated us with tea in the afternoons. We really enjoyed our conversations with him and other great guests. It was possible to borrow his bikes and so we were able to do a little biking tour to Negombo's beautiful beach. To sum it up: staying with Christopher left us wishlessly happy and the city of Negombo itself is a fantastic, authentic and vivid city! We recommend staying at Christopher's 100% and will come back ourselves for sure :)

Response from Christopher:

My dear Jillian What a wonderfully gracious, generous and charming review, very typical of you my dear Jillian. Thank you very much. I am really very touched and appreciative. You were both such lovely guests. We so much enjoyed hosting you in our home and we look forward with great pleasure to seeing you again at Christopher’s Homestay. Kindest regards and best wishes. Christopher Mein lieber Jillian Was für ein wunderbar freundlich , großzügig und charmant Bewertung , sehr typisch für Sie mein lieber Jillian . Vielen Dank. Ich bin wirklich sehr gerührt und dankbar . Sie waren beide so schöne Gäste. Wir so gut gefallen hat , Sie in unserem Hause Hosting und wir freuen uns sehr freuen, Sie wieder bei Christopher Gastfamilie zu sehen . Herzliche Grüße und die besten Wünsche . Christopher

Karen

Karen - Nantes, France, March 2016

Nous avons passé un très bon séjour à Negombo chez Christopher. La chambre est agréable, et Christopher et Chaminda sont vraiment des hôtes très sympathiques. Je recommande vivement cette adresse, d'ailleurs on a déjà prévu d'y retourner à la fin de notre séjour au Sri Lanka. Karen et Nicolas

Response from Christopher:

My dears Karen and Nicolas It was a great pleasure to host you at Christopher’s Homestay and we were happy that enjoyed yourselves in Sri Lanka. Thank you for your kind and generous recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards and best wishes Christopher and Chaminda Mes chers Karen et Nicholas Ce fut un grand plaisir de vous accueillir à la Homestay Christopher et nous étions heureux que vous apprécié au Sri Lanka. Je vous remercie de votre aimable et généreuse recommandation. Nous attendons avec impatience de vous revoir. Cordialement et meilleurs voeux Christopher et Chaminda

Evgenii

Evgenii - Ufa, Russia, March 2016

Очень добродушный и приветливый хозяин! Встретил нас в аэропорту. По прибытию угостил соком. Комната чистая, удобная и большая ванная, дом уютный, расположен в тихом районе. Все соответствует описанию. Буду рекомендовать этот дом своим друзьям. Very good-natured and friendly host! He met us at the airport. Upon arrival, he treated juice. The room is clean, comfortable and a large bathroom, a cozy house, located in a quiet area. Everything matches the description. I would recommend this house to friends.

Response from Christopher:

My dear Evgenni Many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a great pleasure to host you and your wife in our home in Negombo. We were only sorry that you could only stay for one night. It would have been nice to get to know you. It is always so interesting to hear about the experiences of people from other countries. We get so many different nationalities here at Christopher’s Homestay in Negombo. But there are so many lovely things to see and do in Sri Lanka, so we understood that you had to get off to Kandy and the rest of your trip round the island. There was a lot for you to do in the time that you are in Sri Lanka. If you would like to stay with us for your last night we would be delighted to see you again, and Chaminda will be able to take you to the airport in the tuktuk to catch your flight back home to Moscow. Thank you again for your kind words of appreciation. Best regards. Christopher and Chaminda Мои дорогие Evgenni большое спасибо за ваши любезные замечания. Было очень приятно провести вам и вашей жене в нашем доме в Негомбо. Мы были только жаль, что вы могли бы остаться только на одну ночь. Было бы приятно познакомиться с вами. Это всегда так интересно услышать об опыте людей из других стран. Мы так много разных национальностей здесь на Кристофера Герман Гессе всю свою жизнь находился в Негомбо. Но есть так много приятный, что посмотреть и чем заняться в Шри-Ланке, с тем чтобы мы понимали, что вы выходите в Канди и на остальной части вашей поездки на остров. Там было много для вас сделать в то время и вы в Шри-Ланке. Если вы хотите оставаться с нами для вашей прошлой ночью мы были бы рады видеть вас снова и Chaminda будут иметь возможность принять вас в аэропорт в tuktuk для захвата вашего рейса домой в Москву. Еще раз благодарим вас за ваши теплые слова признательности. С наилучшими пожеланиями. Кристофер и Chaminda

Name

Benjamin - Lyon, France, March 2016

Christopher wanted to be be helpful and was, but it was the end of our trip, and we had plans so we we did not spend much time with him. Everything was simple, And Christopher also lent us some bicycles for our last ride! A good place to stay)

Response from Christopher:

My dear Benjamin Thank you so much for your kind and gracious review. It was a pleasure to host you at Christopher’s Homestay, even for so short a stay. We were very glad that you enjoyed your visit to the beautiful tropical island of Sri Lanka, and happy that you chose to spend your last night in our home. We are conveniently close to the airport so our tuktuk driver Chaminda was very pleased to be able easily to drop you at the airport for your flight back to France. Best regards Christopher Mon cher Benjamin Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire si aimable et courtois. Ce fut un plaisir de vous accueillir à la Homestay Christopher, même pour un si court séjour. Nous avons été très heureux que vous avez apprécié votre visite à la belle île tropicale de Sri Lanka, et heureux que vous avez choisi de passer votre dernière nuit dans notre maison. Nous sommes à proximité de l’aéroport, donc notre chauffeur de tuk tuk Chaminda était très heureux de pouvoir facilement de vous déposer à l'aéroport pour votre vol de retour vers la France. Meilleures salutations Christopher