Customer Reviews

Jeremy

Jeremy - Melbourne, Australia - June 2016

Chris and Charminda were the perfect hosts to quickly orient your self as you touchdown in Sri Lanka. From nourishing food to a peaceful base to explore the surrounds, this is the ideal springboard into the rest of your Sri Lankan travels.

Response from Christopher:

My dear Jeremy Thank you very much for your kind, generous and gracious review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home. We enjoyed having you. I was very interested to hear of your study projects on the island. I'm sure that you will enjoy your visit; there are so many interesting and beautiful places to see, and the people are charming, kind and welcoming. Best wishes for your continuing stay on the island. Kind regards. Christopher and Chaminda.

Congrong

Jamal - Kuwait City, Kuwait, May 2016

I stayed 3 nights in Chris place. I arranged a pick up from the airport and met both Chris and Chaminda at the exit. Effective communications from both of them. When I asked, I get helpful tips to do things easily. The house in a quite local neighborhood. My room is comfortable with AC, attached to it a private bath. We share the setting, the dinning and the patio area. A charming gardens in front and the back of the house. A dog and a cat keep you a company too. Chris has great knowledge of the local culture and what to do in Negambo. He also introduced me to a kind local family, chatted with them and drank tea. Don't miss Chaminda's food! You know what I mean when you taste it. From start to end I feel welcome and care from Chris and Chaminda. I definitely recommend the place to stay and no need to look further if you are coming to Negambo.

Response from Christopher:

My dear Jamal, thank you for your gracious and generous review. It was a great pleasure to host you, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you have finished your tour of Sri Lanka, if you would like to come back and stay with us for the night before your departure, you would be most welcome. Chaminda will be pleased to take you to the airport to catch your flight back home to Kuwait. Thank you for your suggestion about regularly sweeping the floors to control insects and bugs. Actually the floors are swept at least twice every day, but as you are aware, we enjoy a tropical climate here in Negombo, so we need to keep all the doors and windows open to take advantage of the breezes to air and cool the house. Here it is tropical, but the heat is not so extreme that we have to use A/C all the time, like you do in Kuwait. I can imagine that in the heat of Kuwait you keep all the doors and windows closed and the A/C on all the time, so that no insects or bugs can ever get into your house. Here in Negombo we keep the windows and doors open for the breeze, so any passing insect or bug is free to enter at any time, and they do occasionally. We burn coils, and use electric vaporisers against the mosquitoes, but the bigger bugs we just have to deal with by ejecting them when we see them. It's not a cleanliness issue, it's more a wildlife issue ! We even occasionally find little frogs and ghekos in the house, and yesterday I had to eject a large spider which alarmed a lady guest. It was perfectly harmless of course, but you know what some ladies are like with large spiders ! It would be difficult to know who was the more frightened, the lady guest or the spider. Anyway, all's well that ends well. Mrs Spider was put out of doors and the lady guest was calmed and reassured, as I hope, are you. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda.

Mia

Mia - China, May 2016

This is a super lovely house and a very gentleman landlord,chris give me very nice experience at frist of my trip,also have a marvellous dinner made by chaminda,u cant miss it!i very hope i can back again:)and chris also recommend me a very good drive Nuwan

Response from Christopher:

My dear Mia Thank you very much for your gracious and generous review. It was a great pleasure for us to host such a charming and lovely guest. And we were very happy to have been able to accommodate the late booking of your friend, who was also a very nice guest. It was very good that you were able to spend your first two days with us, before going off to explore the beautiful tropical island of Sri Lanka, which is rightly known as the Pearl of the Indian Ocean. There are lots of interesting and beautiful things to see and do during your visit, and the Sri Lankan people are so kind and welcoming, so I know that you will have a lovely time. And it was good that you were able to meet our other two guests, who had been a month in Sri Lanka and who were able to share with you their experiences. If you would like to return to stay with us again before your departure, you would be most welcome, and Chaminda will be very happy to take you in the tuktuk to the airport to catch your flight at the end of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again, and then we shall be sorry to see you go. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda

我亲爱的米娅 非常感谢您的亲切和慷慨的审查。这是一个我们非常高兴举办这样一个迷人而可爱的客人。我们很高兴已经能够满足您的朋友,谁也是一个非常好的客人的预订晚了。这是非常好的,你能到你的头两天花和我们在一起,才去了探索斯里兰卡,这是正确称为印度洋上的明珠的美丽的热带岛屿。有很多有趣和美丽的东西可看,在您访问期间做的,斯里兰卡人是那么善良和热情,所以我知道,你将有一个美好的时光。我也很高兴,你是能够满足我们的其他两位嘉宾,一个月斯里兰卡谁曾,谁能够与大家分享他们的经验。如果你想回到你出发前再和我们在一起,你将是最欢迎的,Chaminda会很乐意带你到TUKTUK机场赶你在假期结束飞行。我们期待着您的再次光临,然后我们将遗憾地看到你去。由克里斯托弗和Chaminda亲切的问候和良好的祝愿

Mi

Mi - Osnabrück, Germany, May 2016

Der Aufenthalt bei Christopher war sehr angenehm und praktisch für die ersten beiden Nächte. Christopher und chaminda sind sehr zuvorkommend und freundlich. Mit gutem Essen und hilfreichen Insider Tipps waren wir für unsere Reise super vorbereitet und haben direkt auch unsere letzte Nacht wieder dort gebucht! Vielen Dank für die gastfreundlichkeit Christopher :)

Response from Christopher:

Translation of the review: "Staying at Christopher was very pleasant and practical for the first two nights . Christopher and Chaminda are very accommodating and friendly . With good food and useful insider tips we were super prepared for our trip and have booked our last night there again ! Thanks for welcoming friendliness Christopher :)"

CHRISTOPHER’S RESPONSE It was a great pleasure for us to host you at Chris’s-Negombo Homestay for the beginning of your stay in Sri Lanka. Thank you for being such charming and delightful guests. It was nice that you could meet our other guests who had returned to us after a month in Sri Lanka, and who were able to tell you all about their travels round this beautiful tropical island, and so you were able to get all the latest information and their first hand knowledge about interesting places to visit. We look forward with pleasure to your return, when we shall be interested to hear of all your Sri Lankan experiences. Best wishes for the continuation of your visit.

CHRISTOPHER REAKTION Es war eine große Freude für uns, Sie bei Chris's-Negombo Homestay für den Beginn ihres Aufenthalts in Sri Lanka zu bewirten. Vielen Dank für Ihren entzückenden Gäste. Es war schön, dass man konnte unsere anderen Gäste treffen, die uns nach einem Monat in Sri Lanka zurückgekehrt war, und die in der Lage waren Sie alles über ihren Reisen rund um dieses schöne tropische Insel zu erzählen, und so konnten Sie alle aktuellen Informationen zu erhalten und deren Wissen aus erster Hand über interessante Orte zu besuchen. Wir freuen uns, mit Freude zu Ihrer Rückkehr , wenn wir daran interessiert sein wird von allen Sri Lanka Erfahrungen zu hören. Die besten Wünsche für die Fortsetzung des Besuches.

Mi

Mi - Osnabrück, Germany, May 2016

Auch bei unserem zweiten Aufenthalt haben wir uns rundum wohlgefühlt! Vielen Dank Christopher, dass wir unsere überflüssigen Sachen bei euch lagern durften. Wenn es für uns nochmal nach Sri Lanka geht, kommen wir wieder :) LG Milena und Marina

Response from Christopher:

Translation of the review: "Even with our second stay we have felt ourselves very well ! Thanks Christopher , allowing us to store our excess stuff with you . If it goes again for us to visit Sri Lanka , will come again :) LG Milena and Marina " Mi's private feedback for you : " Christopher and Chamindas hospitable friendliness ! "

CHRISTOPHER'S RESPONSE My dears Milena and Marina, we very much enjoyed hosting you. Thank you for being such charming and delightful guests. We were happy that you could come back to us for your last days after your trip round the Island, and we were delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time, you saw many lovely places, and you met such kind, welcoming and interesting people. We hope that you will come back soon to Sri Lanka, and we would be delighted to host you again. Kind wishes and best regards, Christopher and Chaminda

CHRISTOPHER'S RESPONSE TRANSLATION Meine Lieben Milena und Marina , haben wir sehr genossen Sie Hosting . Vielen Dank für Ihren entzückenden Gäste. Wir waren sehr erfreut, dass Sie nach Ihrer Reise rund um die Insel für Ihren letzten Tag wieder zu uns kommen konnten, und wir waren sehr erfreut zu hören, dass Sie eine wunderbare Zeit hatten , Sie viele schöne Orte gesehen , und Sie eine solche Art erfüllt , einladende und interessant Menschen. Wir hoffen, dass Sie bald nach Sri Lanka zurückkommen , und wir würden uns freuen, Sie wieder zu bewirten. Mit freundlichen Wünsche und beste Grüße , Christopher und Chaminda

Name

Angelina - Germany, May 2016

Die letzten zwei Nächte unserer Reise verbrachten wir bei Christopher, der uns sehr freundlich empfangen hat und generell ein richtig toller Typ ist. Wir hatten lustige Unterhaltungen und haben uns sehr willkommen gefühlt. Die Unterkunft ist ein paar Minuten vom Zentrum, sowie vom Strand entfernt, was jedoch kein Problem ist, da man mit dem TukTuk an das gewünschte Ziel für wenige Rupien gefahren und wieder abgeholt wird. Auch zum Flughafen wurden wir für einen günstigen Preis gefahren. Das Abendessen war ein absolutes Highlight weil super lecker und auch zum Frühstück gab es leckeres Porridge, Obst und Toast mit Jam. Das Zimmer ist mit dem nötigsten ausgestattet, sauber und absolut okay für den Preis. Wir würden Christophers Homestay für die ersten bzw letzten Tage auf der Insel empfehlen, da es nah zum Flughafen ist und man super ankommen bzw sich auf die Heimreise vorbereiten kann.

Response from Christopher:

Translation of the review: "The last two nights of our trip we stayed at Christopher's, who gave us a very friendly welcome and generally a really great time. We had amusing conversations and felt very welcome . The property is a few minutes from the center and from the beach, but this is not a problem as it is easy to be driven in the small three wheeler (tuktuk) to the desired destination for a few rupees and picked up again. Even to the airport we were driven for a cheap price . The dinner was a highlight because it was super delicious, and the breakfast was delicious porridge , fruit and toast with jam . The room is equipped with the all necessaries , clean and absolutely okay for the price We would recommend Christophers Homestay for the first or last days on the island , since it is close to the airport and super get one or to prepare for the trip home ."

CHRISTOPHER’S RESPONSE. My dear Angelina it was a great pleasure to host you in our home. You are a super sweet couple, and we very much enjoyed your company. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope that you will come again whenever you are in Sri Lanka. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda.

TRANSLATION CHRISTOPHER REAKTION . Mein lieber Angelina war es eine große Freude, Sie in unserem Haus zu bewirten. Du bist ein super süßes Paar , und wir haben es sehr genossen Ihre company.We Vey glücklich sind, dass Sie Ihre Zeit bei uns genossen haben, und wir hoffen, dass Sie wieder kommen , wenn Sie in Sri Lanka sind . Mit freundlichen Grüßen und den besten Wünschen von Christopher und Chaminda .

Annet

Annet - Uttwil, Switzerland, May 2016

I enjoyed my stay at Christophers very much. Christopher and Chaminda are very cordial and helpful, with their help I had a great last day in Sri Lanka.

Response from Christopher:

My dear Annet, thank you for your kind and generous review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being such a charming and delightful guest. It was a great pleasure for us to host you in our home. We were very interested to hear about your development work and studies in Bangladesh. One of the very nice things about homestay hosting is the opportunity to meet and talk with interesting people from all over the world, in all walks of life. Thank you again for your gracious review. Please come and see us again if you return to Sri Lanka for another rest and relaxation break. You will be most welcome. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda.

Richard

Richard - Swansea, U.K. May 2016

Christopher made us feel very welcome in his home, arranging a pick up from the bus station and drop off to the airport thanks to Chaminda. Chaminda also cooked us two lovely meals, things we hadn't tried during a whole month in Sri Lanka! A nice and clean room and bathroom and a comfy bed. Would definitely recommend this place if you are just arriving in Sri Lanka or just about to leave. Thank you both.

Response from Christopher:

My dears Richard and Ffion, thank you for being such charming and delightful guests whom it was a great pleasure to host in our home. Mia, our Chinese guest, who was just starting her visit, was very pleased to meet you and to hear how much you had enjoyed your month's experience in Sri Lanka. She has gone off round the island and will be coming back before she goes, for the last couple of days before catching her flight home to China. So thank you for giving her the benefit of your experience. As you know, there's still lots more to see and do in Sri Lanka, even after a month's stay, so we hope that we shall be seeing you again when you return to Sri Lanka for the second instalment. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda

Sarah Jane

Sarah Jane -Kumily, Inida, April 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with Christopher as he is a very welcoming and generous host. The guest room is cosy and comfortable, as is the rest of the house, and the location is quiet in a lovely residential area. The highlights of my stay were the interesting and often funny conversations with Christopher, which gave me a great insight into life in Sri Lanka, and the really delicious dinner cooked by Chaminda. I would highly recommend staying here at the start of your holiday in order to take advantage of Christopher's knowledge of the island and I wouldn't be surprised if you returned at the end.

Response from Christopher:

My dear Sarah Jane, thank you for your kind and generous review. We greatly enjoyed hosting you at Christopher's Homestay, Negombo, and we were very interested to hear of your life and your hosting experiences in India. Thank you for your generous tips and suggestions. Please come again when next you are in Sri Lana. Kind regards and best wishes from Christopher and Chaminda.

Steve

Steve - United States, April 2016

Christopher is a great host. He is open, polite, generous, happy, creates a relaxed environment and a great person to have a conversation with. He made our stay in Negombo pleasant as it was the tail end of our journey. Chaminda was great also, taking us on TukTuk to Negombo beach. They offered us a beautiful dinner, but we had a big late lunch. And then Christopher prepared us a wonderful breakfast with tea. Afterwards, he and Chaminda took us out shopping. They are just friendly people and really made us feel at home. We had great conversation, connected as friends, and he also gave me some great advice. I definitely recommend staying with Chris. His house is really fairly priced, he is thoughtful, and he really lives a very eco-friendly and positive lifestyle.

Response from Christopher:

My dears Steve and Flora What a wonderfully kind and gracious and generous review. Thank you so much. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Negombo-Chris’s Homestay. We very much enjoyed hosting you. The wonderful thing about meeting people from other countries is the fascinating stories they have to tell you of the life in their countries. You story was very interesting. We were very happy that we were able to take you to the clay pots shop, something that you had wanted but were unable to do, as you past in the bus clay pots shops in village after village, but couldn’t get off the bus to have a look. Clay cooking pots are widely used and skilfully made here in Sri Lanka, in many shapes and sizes. They are serviceable, practical and cheap,and they give an authentic taste and presentation to Sri Lankan cooking. I think that they are rather underrated and should be used more widely, but they seem to be losing adherents to stainless steel cooking utensils, alas. I was so sorry to hear that some of the clay pots which you took back with you didn’t survive baggage handling on your two flights. It’s a very good reason for you to come back to Sri Lanka. And next time we’ll pack them in protective packaging. All good wishes for your new lives in your new country. Kind regards from Christopher and Chaminda 我的宝贝史蒂夫和植物 什么是精妙的客气和亲切的和慷慨的审查。 非常感谢您。 我们非常高兴您喜欢您的入住我们的酒店在Negombo-Chris的寄宿家庭。 我们非常喜欢你主持的。 美妙的东西关于会议的其他国家的国民的迷人故事。他们告诉你的生命在他们的国家。 你的故事是很有趣的。 我们非常高兴的是,我们能够将您带到土锅店的东西,你想要的,但却无法这样做,因为您过去的总线中的粘土锅店村村后,但不可能得到关闭总线看一下。 粘土锅子的广泛使用和巧妙地在这里所作的,在斯里兰卡,有各式各样的形状和大小。 它们都是易于维护的、实际的和廉价的,它们提供了纯正的口感和演示文稿到斯里兰卡的烹饪。 我认为他们而不是被低估,应更广泛使用,但它们似乎是失去了追随者的不锈钢炊具,唉。 我很难过,有些粘土盆,你拿回了与你没有生存的行李处理您的两个航班。 这是一种非常好的理由,你一定要回来的斯里兰卡。 和下一次我们会将它们的保护性包装材料。 所有的良好祝愿,您新的生活的新的国家。 此致国务卿克里斯托弗和一道